Disappointed

Not a day goes by that I don’t think about the paramedics who helped to save my life and now that I am finally getting my life back after my Cardiac Arrest over two years ago, I decided that I wanted to meet them and say thank you myself.  Last week, I wrote an email to the BC Ambulance service asking if that was possible and yesterday I received the response, the answer was no.  Have to say, I was really disappointed, for me this was a bit more closure, it was a life changing event after all and I wanted them to know how sincerely grateful I was that they made it possible for me to be here doing all the things I would have been missing out on had I died.  The person who answered my email said that she would pass my “compliment” on to the District Supervisor so that he/she could share it with the attending paramedics, my only hope is that when that happens, the paramedics actually agree to meet with me.  Not only do I think it will be helpful to my peace of mind, but I have to wonder how often they get this kind of praise and thanks for doing their job, one that I think that the general public takes for granted.  It’s not a job I could do.

 

On the other hand, I have been wracking my brain, I feel like I need to give them something to show my deep appreciation but for the life of me, I can’t figure out what that could be…what do you give someone who saved your life?  It’s mind-boggling and overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

